Mr. Vulnerability

It’s a new year and already only 3 and a half weeks in, I can tell it’s going to be a transforming one.  Why?  You ask. How do you know what is coming? I know these things for the reasons we all know in part, what our future holds…we look at the past. One of my favorite writers, Henri Nouwen, holds firmly that our past is the biggest indicator of our future. I agree– being a student of history I think I have to. But nonetheless I have always believed that we cannot  safely move forward in our future until we have understood our past.  I believe that sociologically and personally.
But that’s for another blog. All that is to say that I know what is coming because I have had this experience before.  2008 began with a deep conviction that we were all severely lacking hope. Hope that though so many things go bad, someday something will go right. Hope that love will overcome hate. Hope that miracles and good do exist. This year began in a similar way. I felt that familiar conviction again, only this time that 2009 would be for me a year of trust–learning to trust myself, others, and God once again. But you must learn to crawl before you walk.

A very wise man told me just a couple weeks ago that I MUST learn to be vulnerable with others–that it would the very hardest lesson I have ever learned but it would also be the most rewarding.  I know, for me, this will be a life-long learning process, but I am in the beginning stages and since i want to become a person of trust, I think that I must also become a person of vulnerability.

Just typing the word scares the crap out of me.

But what does that even mean?? It really is like the blind leading the blind (both blind people in this scenario are me).  The Miss Independent that I am wants to figure this out on my own, which, as it turns out is the very opposite of the meaning of the word.

Well actually, the meaning of the word is a bit precarious. I looked it up, because, well, I have no idea what I am doing and I figured that would be a good place to start.

The dictionary defines Vulnerability as: Susceptible to physical or emotional injury.

Oh goody.

Why do we think this is a good thing?  I don’t know. But I have a feeling I am going to find out.  I hate this very much to be quite honest. And Honesty, incidentally, is Mr. Vulnerability’s sidekick.  I have always done everything by myself. I figure things out by myself. I know how to be on my own and I am good at it.  But as soon as we are unwilling to change and grow then we put ourselves in a box and miss out on the Goodness that Life is offering us.  So, as scared as I am, I am willing to go forward and do what I have to do to learn to be Vulnerable with others.

Another sidekick of Mr. Vulnerability’s is Wisdom. Being vulnerable, I am learning, is not about being stupid.  It is about making conscious choices every day that give others the power to hurt you.  But not everyone deserves that power so these choices need to be made with wisdom.

So you see, it’s not so easy. And being a vulnerability amateur, I have a long road ahead of me. Right now it just feels like being in front of your 8th grade class totally naked.   I am not even sure what the reward in learning all of this is yet, but I have trust that I will understand someday.

I’ll keep you posted on the journey.

And in case you are wondering…NO, i will not be posting all the details of my personal life online as an act of vulnerability.  That would take us back to the aforementioned stupidity point.

5 Responses to “Mr. Vulnerability”


  1. 1 Heidi Renee January 26, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I had an amazing conversation with my best friend today who was processing an intensive she just finished. She learned that she can be both vulnerable and strong – they weren’t a trade off.

    Knowing that she had the choice in the times where she felt safe to choose to be vulnerable – and that it wouldn’t mean she had to give up her strength to do so made all the difference for her. I’m still processing it, but it was so close to what you wrote I thought it might give you something to chew on like it did for me.

  2. 2 Ashley B. January 26, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    “but i’m not actually naked.”
    🙂

  3. 3 becks January 27, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Being vulnerable is hard. I’m not very good at it, but then, I’m not sure many people are. Anyway, if it helps, you have a long-distance friend who never visits you who thinks you’re awesome and brave. That’s me by the way.

  4. 4 Brianmpei January 27, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Any other way is not really living, it’s only pretending to live.

  5. 5 Don Brewster March 13, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Cheers! to a new journey everyday!


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

