Babies, Diamonds, Falling Cupboards, and Sinfulness

nails.jpg

Recap of the past week…it’s amazing what can happen in just a 7 day period….

Thursday: I get word that good friends of mine who are having a baby have been rushed in for a c-section 10 days early. There is a lot of waiting around until finally we find out it’s a girl and mom and baby are fine! hooray!!

Rush to hospital in Saint John after work to visit new baby who looks very perfect and I even get to hold her! Poor mother is very sick and slightly delusional as the stupid doctors didn’t give her any pain meds! Kudos to her for putting up with a room full of family and friends all evening! The whole thing is pretty crazy really. I mean one minute there is this unknown thing inside her stomach and the next minute it’s a real person with fingers and toes and everything.

Friday–off to Boston! My sister needs help picking out an engagement ring so my friend Kristi and I go to help. Plus, really, I think we were both in need of a weekend outside of St. Stephen. It’s too small in this town sometimes…

Get to Boston (I no longer cringe in fear of driving into the city! …big accomplishment)…and head straight to IKEA. Where else would we go first? Kristi is a decorating diva and has decided she’s going to help me re-do my bedroom. She keeps loading me up with all the essentials. She really should own some shares in the store or something because she knows exactly where everything is located, how much it is, how much it was last month, what colors it comes in, how reliable it is…etc. And the store is three floors big! I’m telling you, don’t go to IKEA without this girl.

We then rush back to the city to my sister’s place where we have a great home cooked meal with her and Future Fiance. My sister is the hostess with the most-est. It makes me laugh at how different we are…I left a house guest to fend for herself while I took off to Boston. Meanwhile my sister is treating us as though the Queen herself has come for a visit! I thinks she gets that from our mom…

At the same time it’s always surprising how alike we are too…both of us lacking the practical, systematic personality qualities–meaning we often get lost or lose something and together that can be a deadly combo.

Friday Night–off for drinks at a Martini bar then dancing. I realize how great it is to be in a city and think I could really get used to this…I feel a bit like Sarah Jessica Parker in Sex in the City. We get invited back to a Harvard Law School party but decline. We are not THAT much like the girls from the show. The best part was the great talks over this amazing goat-cheese & pear appetizer…the worst part was the couple making out in the booth beside us.

Saturday: breakfast and then onto the real goal of the weekend–ring shopping! But first it is essential that we get our nails done. We do and my “nail technician” is speaking Thai (?) to the girl beside her and laughing a lot while looking at me. It makes me feel pretty self-conscious…is it my cuticles?

Off into the heart of the city. I had NO idea how many jewelers could exist together in one place. I’m not talking the city of Boston, I mean on one small block on Park Street. We go into one building where floors 4-8 are inhabited with various jewelers! It is quite a day as none of us really know anything about rings…and my sister perhaps the least of us. Her job was to find a style she wanted, but with so many option out there it’s not as easy as it sounds. I did learn a lot though, but i’m not sure how helpful it was to her poor boyfriend.

After ring shopping, onto clothes shopping. We have only time to get through H & M which was probably good for all of our budgets! Back home to get all snazzed up for the evening. What were we planning to do, you ask? Well a friend of my sister & Future Fiance was celebrating as she had just defended her doctoral dissertation. Drinks and dancing (yes, again) at a club called The Felt which is, yes, quite pretentious, but fun nonetheless. We had a blast dancing and then home with sore feet. We left Sunday afternoon after a great breakfast and sad goodbyes just in time to be home for the superbowl…

*Let me take this opportunity to express my condolences to the Patriots, especially dear, handsome Tom Brady.

Monday–Woke up slightly disappointed to realize I was back to regular life again. No fancy martini bars and jewelers and nail technicians…back to work. But wait! Just when I thought things couldn’t get exciting around here something happened: I am fast asleep in my cozy bed on Monday night when I am abruptly awoken by a very very loud crashing sound. To be sure it scared the demons right out of me! I get out of bed to investigate. Was it a burglar? Did part of the building fall off? I learily creep through the various rooms of my apartment and don’t see anything…until…I reach the kitchen.

“O MY GOSH!!!!!” I screech. “O…MY…GOSH!”

The place is a disaster, glass everywhere, and I look up to see that the cupboard has actually FALLEN OFF THE WALL! My roomie wakes up and we survey the damage and Kristi comes running from upstairs to see what has happened. Together we manage to clean things up a bit and our shock turns to hysterical laughter. This is basically how the conversation went:

“Roomie, be careful of all the glass in your barefeet!” (roomie pulls broken glass from her foot and laughs)…
“This is crazy!” i say.
“I’m hungry” says my roommate. Roomie pulls peanut-butter from the fallen cupboard and starts eating… We all begin laughing very hard.
“wow, let’s watch a movie!!” says roomie
“um…it’s 4:00 in the morning.” I say.
“yeah, but we’re all up.” she says

We don’t, but I might as well have because i cannot sleep which makes Tuesday a very long and tiring.

BUT, don’t worry. the fun isn’t over. Because, in case you missed it, Tuesday was indeed SHROVE TUESDAY! (or mardi gras, or pancake tuesday, or whatever you want to call it…). I helped make hundreds of pancakes for lunch for the students (Kristi, who is in charge, was drowning in pancake orders so Roomie and I to the rescue!!) It turns out to be the most hilarious thing! I, who have dressed up that day, end up with pancake batter all over me (those who know me aren’t surprised)!

You know, the thing is that i always have so much fun with the girls. It’s definitely going to be a problem when I get married someday…sigh. Guys just don’t have as much fun…

The problem with Shrove Tuesday though, is that it comes before Ash Wednesday which is the beginning of Lent. I have decided to give up sugary goodies and swearing this year. I attend mass by myself on wednesday evening (i’m so pious…) and due to my over-tired state i am quite cranky. Some ladies sit behind and spend most of the time gossiping during the mass. I am judging them harshly in my head when suddenly my cell phone rings! yep, very very loudly too.

“SH*T…SH*T!!!!!!!!!!!!” I jump and grab my purse, frantically hitting it as I disturb the entire church trying to silence the phone. The ladies laugh behind me. “DAMN!” i mutter. Oh crap, i swore. So, not only did I not make it a single day not swearing, but i swore in church during the mass that is all about repentance.

I suck at being pious. I really really do.

So that’s my week so far. This weekend, onto the ECMAs (East Coast Music Awards)!!! There are so many bands playing all over Fredericton and it’s going to be a blast…i hope. And who knows what will happen…

5 Responses to “Babies, Diamonds, Falling Cupboards, and Sinfulness”


  1. 1 becks February 10, 2008 at 5:46 am

    I can’t believe you swore in MASS! On ASH WEDNESDAY! Hahah! You’re great! I read this blog beginning to end and laughed several times (so that Chris stopped playing his spiderman game to ask me what I was laughing at). You’re awesome and I’m glad your week was mostly awesome. I look forward to hearing about THIS week… Have a great one!

  2. 2 Brianmpei February 10, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I thought we raised you better than that…

  3. 4 Barrett February 14, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    thankfully, my cell phone has never gone off in Mass…as I rarely take it out of the car! You’re better than me…I couldn’t make it to afternoon mass, as I had meetings at work that I couldn’t reschedule! First time missing Ash Wednesday! Heathen!

    Thanks for the laughs

  4. 5 http://imgur.com/saPruYJ March 17, 2014 at 12:25 am

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just
    so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

