Belated New Years Blog

ireland.jpg 

I have been meaning to write my first blog for 2008 since…well…Jan.1, 2008. Unfortunately, due to an enormous amount of essay writing, copious amounts of reading, and Gaelic lessons to complete, I haven’t had a chance to put my thoughts online.

 But here I am, second week of January, and finding I have a few minutes to update Easy Silence which has been under severe neglect for some time now.

It has so far been a most-eventful turn of the year for me. With the arrival of some friends from the west coast who have FINALLY realized that you can’t beat the east and have moved back, the beginning of a new term here at SSU, and recooperating from lots of socializing over the holidays I can hardly believe it has been two weeks already since I was on my lovely Prince Edward Island.

The holidays had me doing a lot of thinking. This happens to me often when I step outside the SSU bubble and I actually have a second to think about the important questions.  As usual the normal “what the heck am I doing with my life” question reared its ugly head and I have decided to make a plan. For those of you who know me well, you know I am absolutely NOT a planner. I am not a type “A” personality, I am not a visionary, I do not care about the future (well, i care, but i rarely think about it), and I do not worry about tomorrow. Most of the time I am so absorbed in today that I can’t imagine trying to figure out something out for later.

But what I have realized is that without some kind of planning, you often never set goals for yourself, and therefore never feel a sense of accomplishment. You never get to see your dreams realized and eventually you begin to feel that you are only the things other people want you to be–the people who do plan and decide they want you to play a role in accomplishing their goals.

So I have made a plan to do something I have always wanted to do which is to live in Ireland. I don’t want to go for just a week or two visit. I want to REALLY experience the country. So I am saving and saving and saving (because Ireland is expensive to us Canadians) so that I can plan to travel around and see the country, as well as the Scottish Highlands, and write a chapter of my final thesis while I’m there.

That’s it. Those are the only details I have so far. I hope to be able to do this in about a year and a half, and I hope to stay for a couple of months at the least, and forever at the most.

The thing with plans is that life happens and the truth is that anything could happen between now and then. But I figure if I tell people and I pursue it then it is more likely to happen.

Well along with that, my only other true new years resolution is to be the best secret keeper I know. I have realized that in small circles gossip is the worst enemy and I am pretty sick of the mentality that “your business is my business.” I assure you, its not. Unfortunately I cannot change other people, only myself so I’ll start there.  No more contributing to the rumor mill.

Alright, those are my thoughts for what they’re worth. Now back to the books…

1 Response to “Belated New Years Blog”


  1. 1 Teressa January 15, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I think that’s a great plan Shell! The planner in me is feeling such a connection with you right now!


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

