Live From Portland

lost.jpg 

I am currently on the road again, this time travelling around the state of Maine. Why? You ask. For those of you who don’t really know what I do, I work for St. Stephen’s University (check out the link on the right side…particularly the new student media site which is so much fun). Basically my job is promotion and recruiting (and then anything else that falls under no one else’s job description) and during the fall I spend a lot of time away from home on the road.

It’s awesome sometimes and sometimes it sucks.

Right now I like the break from all the busyness and drama of SSU and Maine is gorgeous this time of year…but it comes at a high price. It means spending copious amounts of time with other college reps (which is a whole world of its own), evangelical teenagers (my worst nightmare some days), and crazy schedules.

Tonight I am slightly frustrated. I was a college fair (representin’!) that ended at about 8:45 p.m. My hotel is about a 7 minute drive away and I just got back (it’s 10:30 p.m.). Yep, lost AGAIN. I spend a lot of time lost and I am learning some very important lessons I thought I’d share:

1. Always, always always click the “Reverse Directions” button on mapquest. Just because you found your way there o.k. does NOT mean you can get back in such an easy fashion.  Plus reversing the directions in your head while fighting rush hour traffic is very stressful. It’s like doing long division while dodging bullets.

2.  Pay attention to land marks! How could I not NOTICE that I drove through an enormous shopping centre the first time (especially since the name of the road was “Mall Road”)?

3.  Have wine waiting for you upon your arrival just in case. My sister taught me this.

4.  Stop for directions, but not somewhere likely to have a teenager working. They always lead you astray and that tends to raise your blood pressure which causes you loose concentration therefore getting you even MORE lost.

5. Learn to read signs! They are your best friend. Highway numbers and street signs are the reason I am alive today and not lost in the middle nowhere only to be eaten by wolves (all this is pending, however, on the fact that the cities actually put up road signs…seriously….WHAT THE CRAP!!! Street signs are IMPORTANT for those of us without any sense of direction).

So that’s my rant. I am starting courses for my Masters degree (3 whole classes on top of my work…am I insane?) so I have some Gaelic to learn.

Tapadh leibh

Oh yeah…and due to extreme amounts of busy, I may be out of the picture for the next 2 months or so but that doesn’t mean that I don’t love you all (well assuming I know all of you who are reading my blog. If you’re a stranger, I don’t necessarily mean you).  Please don’t hate me for not being around when you call or not making plans to do fun things. I promise, I’ll eventually have a life again someday. I’ll try to keep posting blogs so that you know I haven’t been kidnapped by aliens or sold into the sex trade in Russia.

5 Responses to “Live From Portland”


  1. 1 Tim September 27, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    It’s amazing what we do isn’t it?

    I realized yesterday when I got back that I’d been home 3 days out of the last 2 1/2 weeks. It was hard enough doing this job without any attachments. Try doing it with kids too.

    BTW…I spent the last week watching all the other reps on the CUA drive their rental card with GPS units in them. Holy cow does that make life easier!! I ditched my maps a few days in and followed someone the rest of the time.

    Any chance you think Bob would throw in for a couple of those baby’s for us?

    I have major tech envy right now. I spent three hours printing off maps to get ready for my last trip. How easy would it be to have it all in a nice little box that talks to you. Hello Ebay!

    Stay safe Shelley! We’ll catch up soon!

  2. 2 becks September 29, 2007 at 2:18 am

    I’ll keep checking your blogs to make sure neither the aliens nor Russians have, in fact, gotten you. Be sure to blog or I won’t know!

  3. 3 sweetlybroken October 1, 2007 at 12:34 am

    Shelley,
    I tried to drive from my house to Summerside one day and got lost, really, really lost. That was only last month :).
    Find someone who loves you enough to get a GPS, mine is named TomTom and he talks sexy to me when I miss my turn, I’m starting to miss a whole lot of turns…….on purpose.
    Travel safely my friend, be blessed.

  4. 4 brianmpei October 2, 2007 at 3:40 am

    I’m so glad you’ve given up on the trip to Russia…

  5. 5 shelleyperry October 6, 2007 at 4:02 am

    given up? no way! I just need GPS for when i go…


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

