Passing the Time…

Deathley Hallows

Well i’m back in St. Stephen after a two week long vacation in lovely PEI. I don’t think I have ever been so busy, ate so much, had so much wine, or saw so many people in such a short amount of time! Exhausting, but fun.  And it went by far too fast…

There is always a let down when something you have been looking forward to for so long is over. I can’t help but feel down and a little depressed everytime. It’s not just vacations and Christmas, and all the normal stuff….it’s anything really. It’s almost like the anticipation is better than the actual thing itself.

For example I got the new Harry Potter book this past weekend.  I have been waiting for like 2 years for this book (i’m TOTALLY one of those lame geeks who has read them all and watched all the movies and I don’t care what you say, i like it).  As I looked down at “The Deathly Hallows” in my hand and thought about all the secrets it contained that I have been wondering about for far too long (yes, i have no life), I surprisely felt a sense of dread. Once I finished the 600 plus page book it would all be over. This is THE LAST ONE EVER! Although most of me couldn’t wait to start reading, another part wanted to put the book on the shelf in the same way I often want to keep presents wrapped under the Christmas tree instead of opening them. Sometimes the fun is in not knowing.

Don’t worry, I didn’t put it on the shelf.  I tried to take my time reading it but no such luck. Last night I finished the book (don’t worry, I won’t give anything away) and I was sad. Not from the content but because something I was so excited about is over. It’s the same way I felt after the final episode of 24 this season (I TOLD you i need more adventure…). 

And now I am back to work and back to regular life (no more vacation, family, food, wine, and Harry Potter) and wondering what it’s all for anyway…these things we do just to “pass the time” that really don’t amount to anything in the end. I think I feel as though I am simply “passing the time” these days, but I suppose that’s common.

Well if you’ve read the book let me know what you think! If you think i’m a total loser for  joining the Harry Potter craze i’m o.k. with that because I know I kind of am.

5 Responses to “Passing the Time…”


  1. 1 Chris July 27, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Shell, it’s funny you posted such a blog, because lately I’ve been feeling a similar ‘I don’t want to just pass the time’ kind of feeling. Myself, I feel like I need some type of challenge, some kind of adventure; I really dislike sitting around and relaxing. Some find that weird, but it’s true. This past week, after entering Korea and thrown into a teaching job that is completely new to me, I am in a position of obvious challenge and adventure. However, through the bulk of this week, I have felt like I have been just sitting around, “passing the time”, even if I’m across the ocean in a foreign land.
    The last thing I ever want to do in any moment is regret not doing something. I don’t like spending my free time sleeping – in fact, I would love to find out a way to erase sleep from my life completely! (it could happen… couldn’t it?) I want to feel a sense of satisfaction with my life, or with my day… And I don’t know how to reach that. I just know I don’t reach it by ‘relaxing’.
    So anyways… this long comment was just me expressing a similar point. I want to feel like my moments are significant. Is this possible? Perhaps I should change my mindset…
    PS: you were waiting 2 years for that Harry Potter book?? geek!! 😉

  2. 2 sweetlybroken July 27, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    apparently “geeks” now rule the world, how weird. “Passing the time” is the best we can do some days, keeps us rested for the adventures ;).
    One day we really need to have coffee together.

  3. 3 Brianmpei July 29, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Nerdfighters unite! The new Potter was great and I felt the same depressive let down after I finished the read.

  4. 4 Rachel August 17, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Was sad before reading it too; and after.

  5. 5 becks August 28, 2007 at 12:12 am

    Oi oi! I read it too! I felt let down, but to be honset, I’m used to that feeling after reading The Lord of the Rings and all subsequent literature by Tolkien. At least there are still more HP movies to come out!

    As for passing the time, well, I don’t often feel like my life is going on without me. Mainly because I try to spend my ‘relaxing’ time with other people. To me, that building of relationships is more than just that, it’s something which I try to use to improve myself as a person too…

    Not that I think Harry Potter books actually fit into that category!
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

