Adventures in…?

9.jpg   Sometimes I think my life lacks adventure.

To be clear, I am definitely NOT saying that it lacks drama. I have come to really dread drama–gossip, relational stress, and you know, all the character building stuff (as good as everyone says that is for you in the end). I am sure that all of that has caused me to grow in immense ways, but sometimes I just want some excitement. The thrill of something new.  Not something draining, hard, and long. Something now and something big.

The problem is I can’t figure out what that looks like for me. I think I spend a lot of time making guest appearances in other people’s adventures but still have yet to find my own. And everyday I feel a little bit like i’m disappearing while everyone else is in the midst of their own great exploit.

Tonight I did something rather rash. I looked in the mirror while putting my hair back, spontaneously picked up a pair of scissors and cut off the ponytail!  There in my hand laid 6 inches of hair! As I looked at it I immediately felt regret. I have been growing it for so long…however, in an instant, I decided to choose NOT to dwell on something that can’t be changed. I pushed through my instinct to cry and I went ahead with the transformation. Afterall, it’s just hair.

This is what happens when there is no adventure. I do very crazy things for no reason. I think we are all made for it and when we try to control, subdue, and squish our lives into what the world has deemed “proper” then maybe, just maybe, we miss out. 

I just wish I knew what I missing out on so I could go get it…

I can’t help but worry that perhaps I’m just too scared to really find that great adventure and so I keep myself somewhat complacent by doing things like cutting off all my hair and jumping in the ocean in January.

I envy you. Honestly, I’m jealous of everyone that is on an adventure that I am not a part of. That’s the truth and maybe it sounds terrible to admit but it’s how I feel–I want more. I want it all I guess.  I feel a bit like a cheerleader at a marathon, encouraging all the runners to make it to the finish line. And I wonder…when do I get to race?

Incidentally, I like my new do–no regrets.

13 Responses to “Adventures in…?”


  1. 1 sweetlybroken July 4, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    hmmm, how to say this politely, YOU ARE THE ADVENTURE, ask someone on the outside looking in on your life and ask them what they think.You inspire, encourage and lead the way, take a few seconds to look behind you at the people who marvel in all things you.
    Send me a pic of your new do 🙂

  2. 2 Barrett July 4, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    I loved the ponytail – I know I shouldn’t say that, but there you go!

    You words spoke to me – when I can walk properly again – I must do more of my own “exploration.” thanks Shell…

  3. 3 Patty July 4, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Sweetly is spot on! Maybe you’re looking too closely at your own project. Maybe your definition of adventure needs adjusting. You ARE an adventure! Bless you, girl!

  4. 4 shelleyperry July 4, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    I got an email response to this blog that was so great i had to share it. Since she didn’t post on the comments I won’t give away the identity of the commenter, but it’s very funny:

    “Okay I am writing in response to the blog you just wrote — side note: I like the blog it should be more frequent. Now back to the real deal!! What the hell!! YOU CUT OFF YOUR PONYTAIL!!! anyone who has the guts to randomly cut off their ponytail — and says to themselves, i wonder where the scissors are, by no mean needs any adventure in their lives – because you seem to be doing a good job of creating it all on your own!!! girl you are crazy. It is probably the last thing i would ever do and if it happened by accident I think I would a breakdown. I might even prefer to jump off a cliff than cut off my hair (which is likely due to the fact that my mom gave me a mushroom cut when I was in grade 5 and all the guys made fun of me – and I vowed never ever to have short hair – nor do i have the hair for short, i would have like an afro). But if you are feeling like your life is lacking in adventure, the only person who can change that is yourself – but i have a funny feeling you are doing a pretty good job of that thus far. It is summer though – perfect time to be a little wild and crazy…let loose.”

  5. 5 Rachel July 5, 2007 at 2:28 am

    Relational stress can diedieDie, don’t you think?

    I’m sure you looks beautiful with your hair as it is!

    You should ask God to take you on more adventures. I know what you mean, though. Sometimes I feel like Time is whoosing by all around me, and I’m stationary! So, if you could do anything adventurous, what would it be?

  6. 6 becks July 5, 2007 at 4:56 am

    Hmmmmmm. I like that you share yourself and are vulnerable. I have no adventure advice. You don’t need any from me. You are strong and exciting and if you really want adventures then I know you’ll have them. I wish we could hang out a bit Shell. You’re pretty amazing.

    PS> have you posted pics of the new hair?

  7. 7 shirah July 23, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    hi.
    i think you’re so great.
    and so similar to me – in different ways.
    when we come to st stephen for ‘the wedding’
    can we play??
    (shirah)

  8. 8 brieanna July 25, 2007 at 12:35 am

    my sister has totally done this before … except she pulled her ponytail to the side so thath it was all uneven. whoops!! anyway, i think that i will be visiting frequently this term … even possibly more than frequently and we can go on adventures because i am definitely feeling in need of some adventuring. and friends without penises. honestly, there are none out here!

  9. 9 Shannon-May July 25, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    I have been thinking alot about language these days and meaning behind the words we use. When one uses a word, like adventure for example, what is the definition behind it. I looked up the dictionary definition of adventure; the noun – “an unusual and exciting, typically hazerdous experience or activity” and the verb “engage in hazerdous and exciting activity, especially exploration of unknown territory.” These definitions can be interpreted in many ways. Typically one would say, based on these definitions, that adventure is to be out there, travelling, jumping out of airplanes, pioneering a new land, forging a new path on an explored mountain. But these definitions also support the pat response to someone longing for an adventerous life; that everyday is an adventure because you never know what to expect when you walk out the door (esepcially if you live and work in a University Community as you do Shelley!!). Both ways of looking at adventure in one’s life are valid. So, when one can’t be out pioneering a new land, and is unsatisfied with the unfolding adventures of daily life, how does one find contentment? Anyone, anyone, does anyone have an answer? Maybe we need to redefine the meaning of adventure or truely define for the firt time in our lives.

  10. 10 shelleyperry July 26, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Shirah–most definitely! i can’t wait until you guys come…play time for sure.

    Shannon May–Thanks for the pearls of wisdom…maybe we are reaching for something that is already in front of us.

    oh…and also–it turns out the hair isn’t so dramatic (as I thought)…lots of people barely noticed I had done anything! ha ha.

  11. 11 Shannon-May July 30, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I would like to see pictures of this new haie-do, please!

  12. 12 Shannon-May July 30, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    **hair-do

  13. 13 Melly July 31, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Shell, I love the blog…but as so many people have already stated, you are the adventure…I look to you and marvel (perfect example: cutting your pony tail off). You are beautiful and such an inspiration to me to always take life as an adventure. So don’t get too down on yourself and think you are missing life, because to everyone around you, you are the essense of life and adventure. I love you.


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

