The Fish Slayer

nemo.jpg  For those of you who don’t know the background about a month ago I had a goldfish. His name was Marden (I was in charge of taking care of him for a very sweet student of SSU for the summer). 4 days after living with me Marden was dead (he lasted 7 month before me).  He’s in my freezer right now if you don’t believe me.

On Saturday my friends surprised me with a new goldfish for my empty tank– Monty Bonhoeffer. Despite my objections regarding my inadequate skills with things like plants and fish, they assured me I would be fine. They even de-chlorinated my water and made it “fish friendly”.

This morning (Monday) I woke up and Monty was dead.

Coincidence? I think not. Was it suicide? Fish can sense when they are left in incapable hands and perhaps he thought he best do himself in now before he starved to death or worse. I have a sinking suspicion that my name is feared within the goldfish world–Shelley the Fish Slayer.

 sigh.

8 Responses to “The Fish Slayer”


  1. 1 Teressa June 25, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Ummm….why is the dead fish in your freezer? Some kind of crazy sushi dish you are planning?

  2. 2 shelleyperry June 25, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    long story…well not that long actually. Zach put it there. he thought i would want to see it one last time. I wasn’t sure what to do with it and lo and behold a month has past and Marden is still in the freezer…and no i will not make sushi with it. that’s just wrong.

  3. 3 Patty June 26, 2007 at 12:22 am

    shelley…you poor thing!

  4. 4 Brianmpei June 26, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Well, you’ve looked after my kidlings and they’ve all survived so it must just be fish related.

  5. 5 sweetlybroken June 27, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Sorry ’bout Monty, ya know a goldfish’s heart is only so big ergo, they can only take in so much.
    I will respect your sensitivity to your perceived fish care abilities and find someone else to fish sit Fred 🙂
    You crack me up.

  6. 6 Barrett July 4, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    the only fish I ever owned was named Ralph, and he was a Beta. He survived for 3 months. He even survived a trip down the drain while cleaning his bowl, and I had to rescue him from the U-pipe. And then I went away for a weekend, and the college guy I asked to watch him for me forgot to feed him, and he died. Fish die out of spite – to pit humans against each other in college. It’s a global conspiracy…

  7. 7 Rachel July 5, 2007 at 2:21 am

    My rabbit Aishwarya died the first night of “Study” Week, and she’s still in the freezer at the friend’s place who was taking care of her while I was at SSU.

    You should get a Betta…they live a long time. Get a young one, that’s from a really reputable fish/pet place. There’s a great store called Aqua Creations in Halifax. My Shahrukh is from there…

    Sorry about Monty Bonhoeffer! 😦

  8. 8 shelleyperry July 5, 2007 at 3:23 am

    you really have a bunny in the freezer??!


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

