Life’s a Bitch…

madeleine-missing.jpg  I can’t seem to get the story of little Madeleine McCann out of my head. 

For those of you who don’t know this is a 4 year old Irish girl who was kidnapped in Portugal in early May while the family was on vacation. The search has been on for 48 days now and so far no promising leads. I think any attention is good with something like this because the more people who know her face the better, which is why I am posting a picture of her (see http://www.findmadeleine.com for more info). 

This whole thing has me thinking about the randomness of life and how it seems that some people get all the hard stuff while others get to lead a relatively “normal” life.  I hate that there is no guarantee. It doesn’t run on a Karma basis where if you are a good person who does good things, then your life will be good; and if you are a bad person who does bad things then your life will be bad. That’s what moral stories tell us isn’t it? That if you’ve had a hard life then the Universe owes you and something good is bound to come your way. I wish it was so simple. Those are the kind of rules I desperately WANT the world to run on. But that’s not the case.

Take Madeleine’s father for example. From what I can tell Gerry McMann has led a good life. He is a doctor with a strong faith who loves his family. Yesterday on the way to London by plane from Portugal (where he continues the search for his daughter) he saved a man’s life who was in cardiac arrest. He went to London to meet with people who can help in expanding the search (imagine the stress and exhaustion!).  When he arrived in London he stopped at a bank machine where (here’s where it gets unbelievable) he was pickpocketed!! His wallet was stolen and with it his favorite pictures of Madeleine of which he has no copies.  I read this and thought, “Why God? That’s just not fair!”. And it’s not. A good samaritan, in the midst of his worst nightmare, is kicked while he’s down.

Life’s a bitch. 

Now I consider myself a person of faith but I absolutely do not believe in God because I think that if I’m good and pray and believe then good things will happen in my life (I can hear the fluffy Christians’ voices now: “God wants to prosper you.” and “God only has great things in store for you”, etc.). I believe because when the sh*t hits the fan (and i know it will someday…) there will be something–nay, someONE–who will make sure I have strength to get through it and comfort me when I think I can’t go on. No human is capable of that as I’m sure Madeleine’s parents will attest to.

Things like Madeleine’s abduction make me feel sick that this is the kind of world we live in. But faith like the McMann’s makes me proud to lean on the same source that is getting them through day 48.

*police are asking any tourists in portugal during the first two weeks of May to search pictures and submit anything that could help with the search

3 Responses to “Life’s a Bitch…”


  1. 1 Teressa June 21, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks Shell for blogging about this….I can’t help but make this personal and wonder what it would be like if this was my neice Jenna, who I absolutely adore. She’s the same age as Madeline….

    I have to believe that my prayers are making a difference for this little girl and her family, who I have never met but feel an incredible bond with…

  2. 2 Brianmpei June 21, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    How long until there’s justice on the earth?

  3. 3 vanessa August 6, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    I expect that the small Maddie appear soon, poor girl and poor of their family, I imagine all the pain that should be feeling for know not that is of their poor one drinks, I prayed a lot because they find to the little maddie.


Leave a Reply

Good Advice

"Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things"

Currently reading…

"'Tis" by Frank McCourt

a

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

